• Tag Archives short course racing
  • Stronghold Motorsports Signs Cameron Steele

    The 2010 Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series Pro Buggy Champion, Cameron Steele, has become the newest member of the Stronghold Motorsports off road racing team. Joining a lineup comprised of seven-time Supercross Champion, Jeremy McGrath, Rob Naughton and Brandon Bailey, Steele will represent Stronghold Motorsports in the ProLite (300HP Mini Truck) Class during the 2011 Lucas Oil Off Road racing season. As one of the most charismatic figures in the sport, Steele is also one of the faces of short course off road racing, providing commentary on the Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series television broadcasts.

    Read more…

  • Cameron Steele Wins Short Course Championship


    Cameron Steele, in his first Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series found himself in a three way battle for series points in the Unlimited Pro Buggy class. Entering the last race of the season at Firebird Raceway in Phoenix, AZ Cameron trailed Menzies Motorsports teamate Larry Job by just eight points and only had a 16 point lead over Doug Fortin. This race was not just another chance to grab a win, the outcome would determine the 2010 series champion.

    With all the planning and prep behind them the tires bit into the dirt and after the first lap it was Steele, in the #916 Menzies Motorsports/Bully Dog AlumiCraft, running third and Fortin trailed two positions behind while Job found himself in tenth. Cameron in his hunt for the win gained a position and aggressively challenged for the lead with skillfull driving. He then took it over on a gutsy mid-turn pass underneath Bobby Pecoy. Soon afterwards, Steele took the point for leading at the halfway point and had Fortin and Job in fifth and sixth respectively.

    Avoiding crashes that eliminated competitors, including Fortin and Job, Cameron held on for the rest of the race taking the checkered flag and the 2010 Lucas Oil Off Road Pro Buggy Unlimited Championship!

    Special thanks go out to the Desert Assassins crew and sponsors.
    Menzies Motorsports, Lucas Oil, ReadyLift, Fox Shox, Kroyer Motor, Monster Energy, and Metal Mulisha.

    Cameron Steele 2010 Lucas Oil Series Champion